Forum Home
Posted by: Sarah Felstead
Date/Time: 15/06/17 15:13:00

Topic: Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Proposals to Refurbish Brentford Towers

Posted by: David
Date/Time: 15/06/17 12:27:00
You can see the letter here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2pkHFqX8vbLQm1MVmlBSjFmLTg/view

I am a resident of one of the towers, and that is a scan of the letter as received.

I'd also note:

1. That during the consultation I spoke to a representative of the architects involved and was told plainly that an important factor in the the cladding was that Kew Gardens had been denied their World Heritage status due tot he appearance of the Brentford Towers... i.e. that appearance is one of the most (if not the most) important factors.

2. The consultation feedback form had questions about "visual improvements and remodelling" having a positive difference to the environment and estate. Note, there was not a single question about whether it would make residents sleep more soundly knowing that the chances they would wake in the morning were much improved.

3. In a Twitter exchange with the councillor https://twitter.com/buro9/status/875100051609145344 the existing concrete is referred to as "cladding", but no definition of "cladding" as I understand it would imply that the removal of it exposes the reinforced steel structure, but yet that is what you see in the Brentford TW8 sharing of the letter I received: http://www.brentfordtw8.com/default.asp?section=info&page=towers001.htm&cn=cmVwbHk%3D

4. Whilst we do have fire alarms and I test them every month, I doubt others do