Forum Message

Topic: Yulin Dog Meat Festival
Posted by: Sarah Antoinette
Date/Time: 21/06/18 04:20:00

I'm an author from Brentford and one thing I love about this small town is the fact it's filled with dog lovers. St Paul's is always filled with friendly dog owners and their hounds (apart from the odd shady character!) and that's why I'm hoping that some of our community will be willing to take part in a campaign I am running called Operation Hound.

I'm quite sure that the majority of people reading this will have heard of the Yulin Dog Meat Festival in China where each year thousands of dogs - many stolen pets - are skinned, boiled and burned alive. This actually occurs every day of the year in China as millions of dogs are subjected to the same fate on a daily basis. We - and our dogs - are very fortunate to live in a country where dog welfare is a priority - doggy heaven, as many call it. The same cannot be said of the poor dogs and their grieving owners in China, where animal welfare laws are non-existent.